jump to navigation

Digital Bangladesh: After waiting in the railway station for an hour October 29, 2010

Posted by bdoza in BANGLADESH, GOVERNANCE.
Tags:
trackback

I am invited to attend a workshop at British Council Council Dhaka on 4th November 2010. To procure a Ticket in the sleeper or A/C I went to the Railway Station by myself. To my disbelief I found myself at the end of a queue of at least 20 people. There is still 5 days in my hand. I was sure that there will be no difficulty in getting the ticket.
When I could reach the counter, I found a clerk busy with checking vacancy, giving tickets, receiving telephones and communicating with office for special instructions at the same time. He was taking about about 15 to 20 minutes to solve the need of a client. When I asked about my ticket, he said that no ticket is available for that day in any class. Many other people are also face the same fate like me in a dozen of rows.

People gathered there was making hue and cry telling that why the authority is not disclosing which tickets are not available, only to be frustrated after hours of waiting.

The Government has declared to make Bangladesh Digital. But where a simple digital display of vacancy of tickets is yet not possible in the major railway stations, total digital progress in the country wouldn’t be better than that.

Hope that highest government authority and the respective ministries will put necessary thrust to fulfill the dream of Digital Bangladesh.

We are eagerly waiting for a Digital Bangladesh.

An ordinary citizen

Comments»

1. Rezwan - October 29, 2010

There is already an effort from the government in case you did not notice:

http://www.digitalbangladesh.gov.bd/blog.php?ID=62

10% of the tickets are reserved for the e-ticketing service:

http://www.grameenphone.com/index.php?id=532

I read a blog of an user who rated this service well. Don’t have the link now. But you can Google it.

2. bdoza - October 30, 2010

Thanks for the links.

3. Ibne Siraj - November 20, 2010

But the pace of digitalization is too slow to meet the the target.


Leave a Reply

